top of page

What a ride the last 5 months have been!


When I signed up to this challenge I didn’t really know what I had agreed to, all I knew was I was up for it, I got a trip away with my mates, I was sure it was going to be fun, plus I got to visit Paris. However, reality quickly sank in when I got home and informed my husband of what I was planning on doing and his words were ‘You haven’t been on a bike in the whole 11 years I’ve known you’! I sat and pondered on what it actually meant, could I do it? Was I being realistic about what this meant? Did I have the time with work and Esme and normal life? How sore were my ‘bits’ going to get? How much was this going to cost? Where do I buy a bike from?

I was also a bit nervous about telling people, as I will be the first to admit that I have in the past signed up for a couple of big challenges and not followed through with them. I was meant to walk to great wall of China but I didn’t have the commitment to raise the required funds. I was due to run the 2015 London Marathon but had to pull out a month before due to illness, so I was fully anticipating a few comments of ‘we’ll believe it when we see you in Paris’. I should have a little more faith in the people around me as I received nothing but support and encouragement from them from day 1. And with this encouragement I believed I could and would do it and set out on the road.

I conquered the first hurdle of not having a bike, helmet, kit etc etc and went on my first ride. What now seems like my warm up was then a huge accomplishment, I did 14 miles with 2 team mates at the pace of a snail but I did it. My maiden voyage was done and I felt fantastic (no I didn’t, I felt bloody sore and a little sick). That was 5 months ago, fast forward through a lot of rides, a lot of miles, a couple of failed attempts where I sat on the side of the road waiting to be picked up and some tears, to this weekend where I can genuinely say I enjoyed a 75mile round trip to Stratford-upon-Avon. I came back smiling, but still sore (I think I need to accept this will be forever the case). I haven’t done any of this alone though.

They say that cycling isn’t a team event, I personally couldn’t disagree more. I for certain would not have been able to get to where I am today in my training without the support of my team, and not just the incredible 4 members who are heading out to Paris with me, but my extended team. My husband, for getting out of bed on his days off before the sun has rose to watch our little girl and doing night after night of solo parenting so I can get out on the bike. My incredible mother-in-law who has dusted off her bike, learnt how to clip in and joined me on my training rides week after week, morning and night (no mileage or hill has stopped her yet)! All of my friends and family who have texted and sent their words of encouragement to me when they knew I was finding it a bit of a struggle! Without all of this, I would have probably put this challenge in the same failed attempt box with the other two.

However I didn’t quit and I’ve also I have learnt a few things along the way too.

  • I’ve learnt that cycling is the ONE form of fitness I actually enjoy, the thought of getting up to head out for a 50mile route genuinely excites me

  • It is a very sociable sport – every cyclist I have ever met on my routes have waved, nodded and smiled

  • You can constantly eat and every ride is focused around the food stops!

  • Padding is your friend, lover and life saver

  • The struggle with ridiculous tan lines is real

  • A little down hill makes all the difference

  • What looks like a little lump when in the car feels like a mountain when on the bike

  • It is totally acceptable to talk to complete strangers about the pain you have between your legs!

So what has this meant for me? Well one of the big things is my mental health – not that I was crazy before. But with the stresses of everyday life, working, being a mum and everything else that creeps in through the windows, it felt bloody good to get out on the road for a few hours in the eventing or morning and think of nothing at all apart from peddling! I have noticed I’m the happiest and most relaxed when I get home from a long bike ride. It has given me the opportunity to reconnect with friends and spend some quality time with them whilst out on the road. I am so fortunate to have 2 of my closest friends live on the same road as me, but with numerous kids between us we don’t always get to see each other as much as we would like. So being able to catch up whilst doing something we love is a great benefit. All in all its giving a little bit of me back to me, as most people out there we all focus on the people around us, but sometimes we just need some me time and this is what I’ve learnt and it feels great.

I wanted to write this post to encourage anyone out there thinking of taking up a challenge but not knowing if you have the skill, ability, time to do it. I assure you, if you enjoy it then it won’t feel like a challenge it will feel like a fun hobby and all of your favourite people will support you in ways you couldn’t imagine.

I have loved my training and I am ridiculously excited to get on the bike at 6.30am on Wednesday 15th August at Greenwich Park with my team and set off to Paris!!

Much love Steph

1/5 of Tour De Friends!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page